Welsh Championship

Qualification event for the IKF Europa Cup

2017-18 Season

The Welsh Cup is the ultimate challenge event in Wales. It is split into two tiers, Championship and Trophy.

The Championship is contested by the four highest ranked clubs: which will feature Cardiff City & Met, and Cardiff Raptors who compete in English WRL, with the additions of Aberystwyth University, and Cardiff University, who compete in the Welsh National League. Matches will be seeded based on final league positions.

Trophy is an open event to all other teams, regardless of their regular competition. The participants will include the second and third teams competing in the Welsh League, with the addition of newcomers Swansea University who are just contesting BUCS this season. This event will be seeded via a first round play-off.

This event is a re-invention of a competition which has previously existed under the guise of the Welsh Gala. The contest will determine Wales’ National Champion Club, who will then be eligible to participate in the IKF Europa Cup.

The Welsh Gala was first organised in 2008 and ran consecutively until 2014, only missing one year. It was scrapped in favour of determining the National Champion (and Europa Cup entrant) via league results. However, this approach encountered difficulties as Welsh clubs compete in different leagues, and it was not possible for an outright Champion to be declared.

Previous Standings

Season Teams Gold Silver Bronze
2017-18 4
2016-17 4 Cardiff City Cardiff Raptors Cardiff University
2013-14 4 Cardiff University Cardiff Raptors Cardiff Dragons
2011-12 3 Cardiff City Cardiff Dragons Cardiff University
2010-11 3 Cardiff Dragons Cardiff City Cardiff University
2009-10 3 Cardiff City Cardiff Dragons Cardiff University
2008-09 3 Cardiff University Cardiff City Cardiff Dragons
Club Gold Silver Bronze
Cardiff City 2009-10; 2011-12; 2016-17 2008-09; 2010-11
Cardiff University 2008-09; 2013-14 2009-10; 2010-11; 2011-12; 2016-17
Cardiff Dragons 2010-11 2009-10; 2011-12 2008-09; 2013-14
Cardiff Raptors 2013-14; 2016-17
Season Teams Gold Silver Bronze
2017-18 6


Club Gold Silver Bronze